Lord of the Dance

by

(My final post on the TBM disaster relief efforts in the Philippines. It represents some thoughts as I contemplated the 10 days spent there.)

I don’t know why destruction occurs.
I don’t know why we experience pain and suffering.
I don’t know why those that have so little get it taken away more often than those that have so much.

I do know that we brought the Hope of Christ to people.
I do know we encouraged other Christians.
I do know that there are 13 new souls that will be welcomed into Heaven one day.

I do know that He is the Lord of the Dance.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with the hymn:

I danced in the morning when the world was begun,
And I danced in the moon and the stars and the sun,
And I came down from heaven and I danced on the earth,
At Bethlehem I had my birth.
Refrain

Dance, then, wherever you may be;
I am the Lord of the Dance, said he.
And I’ll lead you all wherever you may be,
And I’ll lead you all in the dance, said he.

I danced for the scribe and the Pharisee,
But they would not dance and they would not follow me;
I danced for the fishermen, for James and John;
They came to me and the dance went on.

Refrain

I danced on the sabbath when I cured the lame,
The holy people said it was a shame;
They whipped and they stripped and they hung me high;
And they left me there on a cross to die.

Refrain

I danced on a Friday and the sky turned black;
It’s hard to dance with the devil on your back;
They buried my body and they thought I’d gone,
But I am the dance and I still go on.

Refrain

They cut me down and I leapt up high,
I am the life that’ll never, never die;
I’ll live in you if you’ll live in me;
I am the Lord of the Dance, said he.

Dance, then, wherever you may be;
I am the Lord of the Dance, said he.
And I’ll lead you all wherever you may be,
And I’ll lead you all in the dance, said he.

One Response to “Lord of the Dance”

  1. Neisha Says:

    Thanks Rand so much for sharing all your experiences, thoughts, reflections, and prayers. I’m glad God chose you to go to Manila…be a part of what He’s doing there…and witness His power in the midst of despair. What blessed people we are to see Him in such ways. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

