If only…

by

Last Thursday, I spent the afternoon hearing the amazing stories of Texas college students who served this year as Go Now missionaries in Texas, across America and around the world. This year, Go Now Missions commissioned 330 students to serve in 14 states and 33 countries.

As I listened to students share about seeing people’s lives changed, many mentioned that God used them in spite of their weaknesses and self-doubts.  Many times, others will hear their stories and think that they possess the “super human mission gene,” when in reality, they are just students who let the power of the Holy Spirit run through them.

Yes, they may have amazing stories of ways they shared the gospel, but none of that would have happened unless they completely surrendered their lives, realizing their weaknesses and allowing God to use his power through them.

In 2 Corinthians 12:9-10, the apostle Paul said, “But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

As I heard the students’ stories, repeatedly they said, “If God used us in our weakness and doubt, then he can use anyone.”

So many times, we followers of Christ make excuses about sharing the gospel with people different from us or in a land that is unfamiliar to us. We have a list of “if only’s” that we speak instead of trusting our Heavenly Father who is capable of all things. I am guilty of this too.

So many times we say, “I would serve if only… if only I had money to pay for the trip… if only my parents were supportive… if only I knew how… if only I didn’t have to work… if only I had confidence… if only I could speak another language… if only I had been a Christian longer… if only… if only… if only.”

Acts 20:24 says, “However, I consider my life worth nothing to me, if only I may finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the gospel of God’s grace.”

What is your “If only” right now? We all have them, but let’s be like the Go Now students who walked in God’s grace and allowed His power to change them and others in the process.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

