Not Interested

by

Occasionally, when I am out doing door to door visits in the community, someone will come to the door and spew these words in my face:  “I’m not interested.”  That always mystifies me.  I wonder what they are not interested in.  As I have gotten braver, I have asked them, but they are usually so stunned by my question that they just slam the door.  Reflecting on these encounters I figure that the person at the door is not uninterested in love or friendship, grace or forgiveness, peace or mercy, purpose or hope, eternal life or abundant life.

No, I believe they are cold to what they see paraded as religion.  I believe they are not interested in hypocrisy or judgmentalism or legalism.  I believe they are not interested in keeping up apprearances or in living by some hollow and unfruitful tradition that does not appear to have any meaning.  I believe they are not interested in habitually coming to a place on Sundays that seems to have no relevance to their lives today.

We must be careful to project the correct images to the world.  Are we revealing Christ?  Are we loving with His love?  Are we living by His power?  Are we embracing by His grace?  Are we healing by His touch?  Are we reconciling by His unity?  Are we redeeming by His mercy?  Are we restoring by His resurrection? Are we forgiving by His compassion?

I don’t blame the door-answerers.  Neither am I interested in a false religion, a reflection of Phariseeism.  Nor am I interested in robotically playing church.

Mark 7:5-8
So the Pharisees and the scribes asked him, ‘Why do your disciples not live* according to the tradition of the elders, but eat with defiled hands?’ He said to them, ‘Isaiah prophesied rightly about you hypocrites, as it is written,
“This people honours me with their lips,
   but their hearts are far from me;
in vain do they worship me,
   teaching human precepts as doctrines.”
You abandon the commandment of God and hold to human tradition.’

Prayer
Father, we pray to be true to who you are in your Son Jesus.  We pray to represent Him accurately as we live, love and serve in His Name.  Amen

3 Responses to “Not Interested”

  1. wackypreacher Says:

    Most people don’t want to be bothered at home. Home is sanctuary and outside interference is considered an invasion of sorts. But one on one contact from a co-worker, friend etc. is the most effective and powerful tool in reaching the lost. Rick Davis has shared on his blog of his “coffee house evangelism”. He meets people in a non-threatening environment and is able to share his faith with them in casual conversation. Door knocking just doesn’t work anymore. People want to be left alone when they get home from work. But friendship style evangelism is most effective.

  2. rand Says:

    I’m all for relationships and part of the age group that’s actually bringing that back into popularity. I’ve spent hours way past my normal bed time in gatherings with people I met moments before but whom I now talk with online regularly and discuss Christianity as well as culture.
    I don’t want the point of the post above to be lost. The main point I was trying to make is that we are to be genuine Christ followers and portray as much of Him as possible. Then, we’ll be able to meet people where they are.

  3. sheramblings Says:

    Hey there…
    My family lives in Texas and I LOVE the Cowboys!
    As I was reading your post I found this quote interesting:
    “…Nor am I interested in robotically playing church.”
    Our community in Georgia is experiencing something very interesting and extremely inspiring…
    You might like to take a look at it: it seems to match the comment i quoted above.
    Thanks for sharing your views.

    http://dontcometoourchurch.com

Leave a Reply

