My parents got stuck in my head

by

Sitting in a small auditorium with a camera around my neck and a notebook and pen in hand, I went to the Bivocational Minister’s Statewide Conference in Belton expecting to come out with a story, but what I received from the experience was more than a few pictures and quotes. What I gained was a unique God-encounter and a time to be around youth walking on a path very similar to the one I’ve tracked on myself for many years, as my father has been a bivocational minister for the last 20 years of my life.

The conference was geared for small-church ministers and their families. It included a special teen conference with lectures and gatherings focused on youth needs.

I easily found myself comfortable in the small auditorium worshipping with the other teens. For a moment, I forgot I wasn’t a 15-year-old anymore. The experience got me thinking about the affects being a PK has had on my life.

Headed into college, like most of my peers, I thought I would find freedom. Freedom to stay up late, go wherever I needed and buy whatever I wanted. But to my surprise, I found the contrary: a parental-driven conscience. It’s like a broken-record of my parents glued inside the part of my mind that tells me what I should and shouldn’t do.

The first time I discovered this interesting piece of equipment jammed in my head was around the time of my first set of finals. Sunday morning came pretty early that weekend, and church was out of the question. Well, that’s what I had thought.

“And I was glad when they said let us go into the house of the Lord.”

I tried to roll over and forget about it. But the voice teamed up with my internal alarm clock, and I couldn’t get back to sleep.

“And I was glad when they said let us go into the house of the Lord.”

Long story short, I went to church that morning.

This voice — usually delivering Scripture — visits my thoughts frequently; sometimes inconveniently when I’d rather not follow the straight and narrow path.

But, I’ve really come to appreciate it. My parents, through repetition and constant Scripture reading, have engraved Bible passages upon my heart since I was a child.

Proverbs 1:8-9 says, “Listen, my son, to your father’s instruction and do not forsake your mother’s teaching. They will be a garland to grace your head and a chain to adorn your neck.”

This conference was an encouraging reminder of the garland my parents have adorned my neck with, and a challenge to obey the wisdom they’ve shared with me.

So, as I looked around to snap a picture of the children for the story I was writing, I couldn’t help but think it would be impossible to truly capture the Spirit’s strong presence in the room that was filled with ministers’ children. It would be impossible to get a real picture of the adornment they were being graced with.

Christian parents are truly giving their children the best provision they could ask for when they speak in truth and help their children develop church-going and ministering habits. Many of us are fortunate our parents raised us on Biblical foundations that we can carry through life, and it’s exciting to see youth who are being spiritually trained with the encouragement of their families.

One Response to “My parents got stuck in my head”

  1. Susan Barkley Says:

    what a wonderful job of writing…..and a wonderful message you imparted to us….

Leave a Reply

