A new feel for fighting world hunger

by

Through working on a series of articles about hunger in Texas, I’ve talked to many people whose passion is alleviating world hunger by serving in their communities. After hearing their stories, I was excited to write about the hunger situation, and ways we can alleviate starvation.

But, as I sat down at my computer and pulled out my lunchbox to eat and multitask, I realized there was no way I could effectively communicate to readers the intensity of the hunger problem while eating my sandwich. I was aware of the importance of feeding programs across the state, but I didn’t truly understand the impact one meal could have on a person.

Hunger clearly is a source of a myriad of social issues. It affects the physical and mental development of children. It causes people to think irrationally, impairing their ability to function at their full capacity in their job and at home.

“Try not eating for a day, and then see how you feel the next morning,” said Cheryl Jackson, founder of Minnie’s Food Pantry in Plano, as she explained the impact hunger can have on peoples’ actions and feelings.

So, to get a small taste of what hunger really feels like, I’m going to accept Jackson’s challenge of going without food for a while. I hope by getting a glimpse of their struggles, I can better tell the stories of our hungry neighbors and the people seeking to help them.

Joining the battle against world hunger is joining the cause to make the Lord’s name renown.

By meeting a person’s most basic, physical needs, we decrease crime, stress and malnutrition in our community, across Texas, and around the world. Most importantly, we become a Christ-imitator by serving out of love.

As a college student, I’ve excused myself from giving much because I’ve felt I didn’t have much, especially with student-loans. But now, it’s embarrassing to admit. I’ve indirectly been saying through my actions that I don’t believe the Lord will provide. While God does call us to be responsible with our resources, I know donating $5.40 to a cause that fights world hunger is not irresponsibility.

My one meal at Subway can feed a four-person family three meals. To give up that just once a month isn’t a lot to ask. Yet, it’s a lot to give to one family.

One of my favorite verses is Titus 3:1. “Remind the people to be subject to rulers and authorities, to be obedient, to be ready to do whatever is good, to slander no one, to be peaceable and considerate, and to show true humility towards all men.”

If we, the church, lived every second of every day convicted by this verse, and convinced by the social values it encourages, we wouldn’t be so hesitant about fighting hunger; even if it takes us outside of our comfort zone.

Paul tells us in the Bible to be ready to do whatever is good, and to show humility towards all men. He never guarantees us it will be financially convenient, or an easy sacrifice to make.

If you don’t see hunger as a prevailing issue in our world, I encourage you to go hungry for a day or two so you can begin to understand the needs of those you are being called to serve — even if that means support through prayers.

4 Responses to “A new feel for fighting world hunger”

  1. John Says:

    I was excited this morning to hear more churches are looking to start hunger ministries. Tomi Grover reported she’s hearing from about a church a day that is looking to meet the needs of the hungry across the state.

    Texas Baptist churches across the state can e-mail Tomi at Tomi.Grover@bgct.org for help starting a hunger ministry. She’ll be glad to help however she can.

    And churches and individuals can help the hungry by giving through the Texas Baptist Offering for World Hunger at http://www.bgct.org/give.

  2. Ken Coffee Says:

    Thank you for this important word about hunger. Pewrsonally, I think this shold be an overt priority of our convention and of our churches, as well as of individuals. I have posted a blog at http://www.kencoffee.com that states how I feel about this and will do a follow-up on Friday.

  3. CHeryl Jackson Says:

    How long did you go without food and how did you feel? Im sure thats a story within itself.

  4. Crystal Donahue Says:

    Hey Cheryl–
    I went 65 hours. Not as long as I wish I could’ve gone, but I could tell I was getting irritable, and I had another event to cover that weekend. I didn’t want to be too grouchy! Anyways, I really did begin to notice a lot changes in my attitude and emotions from not eating. I enjoyed the challenge, and hope I have a better understanding of the effects hunger can have on a community. Thank you for speaking with me last week. I love seeing how people are responding to the call to alleviate hunger starting within their own community.

Leave a Reply

