Never stop spreading the ‘Good News’

by
Photo by John Hall

Photo by John Hall

I had the opportunity of going to the Good News Café in Corsicana June 1. I was pleasantly surprised to see the amount of volunteers working and the preparation the church put into this ministry. They had an abundance of food they served to the people in a cozy, café setting. I started thinking, “Wow, this church is really showing God’s love to these people.” Right at that time, God sent me a little wake-up call: The minister of community outreach told me the church still wanted to do more. They want to offer laundry services and showers, and they want to find a central meeting place so they can give hot meals five days a week. God showed me you can always do more. I don’t want to get to the point where I stop growing spiritually. There are always needs, and I if I get stuck on what I am already doing, I might not reach out to meet those needs. These ideas also need to be applied to my prayer life. My relationship with God can always be stronger. My prayers, like my witness, should be a continuous action.

“And just because we say the word, ‘Amen,’ it doesn’t mean this conversation needs to end. Let us pray, let us pray, everywhere in every way. Every moment of the day, it is the right time. Let us pray without end, and when we finish start again. Like breathing out and breathing in, let us pray.”
-“Let Us Pray,” Steven Curtis Chapman

Leave a Reply

