Never too young to give

by

I guess I’m a grown-up, but I have yet to feel like one in my 21 years of life. I always say, “One day I’ll be a grown-up and do grown-up things, like paying all my bills, owning my own house and tithing more.” But, I’ve come to realize, although I might not pay all my bills or own things, God still wants the same from me as he would want from someone double my age. I find myself shortchanging God so often because “I’m a college student, and I don’t have any money.” But, it’s when I give my all that I get back that and so much more. Maybe it means not eating out one night or driving a little less, because we all know how much gas can cost. I always remember this story I heard as a child:

Take a jar and fill it with sand. Then try and put rocks in it. You can’t because the sand takes up all the space. This is the same concept when you think about tithing and giving time to God. Your life is the jar, and the sand represents the worldly things you spend your time and money on. The rocks represent what glorifies God. If you put the rocks in first, the sand will also fit. You can have time and money for both, but you need to put God in your life first. Everything else will fit into place.

No matter how old or young you are, you need to give your all to God. He will bless you.

“A tithe of everything from the land, whether grain from the soil or fruit from the trees, belongs to the Lord; it is holy to the Lord.” Leviticus 27:30

2 Responses to “Never too young to give”

  1. Susan Peed Says:

    I remember that sermon, too – Mr. Jim & I are so pleased about the young woman you have become. We always parise God in His victories. Much love…

  2. lrheartsill Says:

    Thank you so much! That story always sticks in my head. Hope you and Mr. Jim are both doing well!

Leave a Reply

