Would you give up the Sunday donuts if it meant making a difference in your community?

by

Each Sunday morning I walk into my Bible study class, there they are. They call my name. They’re beautiful.

They’re donuts. And I love them. They’re my breakfast.

But maybe I could do without them. It might even make a difference in someone’s life. 

Crosspoint Fellowship thinks small sacrifices can help others. The church has begun a sermon series about sacrificial giving that has had an affect on every person who shows up on Sundays. That’s because the church has turned the thermostat down to 50 degrees so it uses minimal heat. It has turned off most of the lights and is using minimal electricity.

At the end of the sermon series, the church will use the money it would have spent on utilities for mission work. As a result of their short sacrifice, members hope to make a tangible impact on others.

The greatest ideas are sometimes the simplest one. You don’t need me to say it, but great work, Crosspoint.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Would you give up the Sunday donuts if it meant making a difference in your community?”

  1. David Troublefield Says:

    John:

    I also love donuts. On Sunday, all I ate–due to a really busy schedule–was six of them. Today, I cannot look a donut in the eye–but tomorrow is a different day!

    Thanks for the sacrifice-for-ministry story–it speaks to me.

    David Troublefield
    Minister of Education
    Lamar Baptist Church
    Wichita Falls, TX
    david@lbcwf.org

Leave a Reply

