Giving Thanks

by

While travelling on my current trip to DC to visit family, I began reading the Amerian Way Magazine on our flight…thankfully the new portable DVD player worked its magic on our 2-year-old son and I had some time.

The cover story is of Maya Angelou and I just want to give you a few quotes from a woman who has mastered the use of words.

“I am grateful. I am truly grateful. I’m grateful for being here, for being able to think, for being able to see, for being able to taste, for appreciating love – for knowing that it exists in a world so rife with bulgarity, with brutality and violence, and yet love exists. I’m grateful to know that it exists.”

“No matter how bad it gets, I’m always grateful to know that I don’t have to stay with the negative. I don’t have to continue in this climate of cynicism.”

“When you get, give. When you learn, teach.”

“You’ll have to know me very, very well to hear me complain. I’ll protest like the dickens, but I don’t complain.”

“I may be remembered as this tall, mean black lady, but I hope not. I hope I’ll be remembered as a kind and generous and funny and love and brave. And grateful. Always grateful.”

Leave a Reply

