Win Oakes dies

by

Win Oakes, who served on the BGCT staff for years, passed away yesterday. Win was critical in church-starting efforts in the DFW area as well as the partnership between the BGCT and the Minnesota-Wisconsin Baptist Convention.

For information about the arrangements, click here.

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Win Oakes dies”

  1. spiritualsamurai Says:

    Win was a great Christian gentleman. It was a great loss when he retired and heaven became a more joy place on his arrival.

  2. David Says:

    In the related story at the BGCT’s website, John has May 8 as the date of Bro. Win’s funeral service in Burleson. Probably August 8?

  3. John Says:

    David, you are correct. I am correcting it now on the BGCT web site.

  4. David Says:

    Happy to help.

  5. David Lowrie Says:

    Win Oakes was a life long friend of our family. He was my DOM when I was in seminary. He helped me get started as a young pastor, and believed in me when I had a hard time believing in myself.

    His legacy will live on in the lives of the many his life touched. My prayers go out to his wife Martha who served so faithfully behind the scenes. Win was a winner in every sense of the term.

    I am confident he heard those words we all long to hear “well done good and faithful servant”.

    David Lowrie
    Canyon

  6. Randy Says:

    I am saddened to hear of the passing of Win Oakes. I was privileged to have had the opportunity to serve with Win for many years at BGCT. As a result of Win’s ministry many people will meet him in glory.

  7. Ken Coffee Says:

    I had the joy of working with WIn for many years at the BGCT. I share all that has been said here and pray for God’s comfort for Martha.

Leave a Reply

