A moment of ‘Hope’

by

Last Friday, I went to the VBS awards ceremony at First Baptist Church Urbandale in Dallas. The church had about 30 children each day participate in the VBS. Those children raised $36.09, which is to go for Bibles to be distributed through Texas Hope 2010, the BGCT’s effort to give every person in the state an opportunity to respond to the gospel.

The seven members of the class that raised the most money each got a Bible.

After the presentation of the Bibles, Pastor Gram presented the gospel one more time and asked people to respond. The movement of God’s spirit was tangible in the room. It was powerful.

A young child bumped me as I prayed during the invitation, and I opened my eyes. I’m glad he bumped me. I saw four or five young people huddled around Pastor Gram. Four or five more youth were huddled around the youth minister. In all, 12 people made professions of faith.

That’s what Texas Hope 2010 is all about — people giving Bibles, people getting Bibles and people responding to the gospel. What a great moment of hope from First Baptist Church Urbandale.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “A moment of ‘Hope’”

  1. David Says:

    Our congregation’s Recreation Ministry Team is leading a basketball camp this week for any and all grade schoolers. About 65 registered for the camp–they’re learning basketball skills along with the gospel. We’d appreciate your prayers for the children and our team (VBS follows next week). Thanks!

  2. John Says:

    I appreciate you using smaller words in this comment. I had to carry a dictionary with me through the last exchange between you and Tim.

    I do understand the word pray and will certainly do that for you, your church and everyone involved in VBS. Let us know how it goes.

  3. Tim Dahl Says:

    😉

  4. David Says:

    Thanx, John!

Leave a Reply

