Camp appreciation month

by

April is camp appreciation month, so from time to time I’m going to try to sprinkle in some stories of how camps are impacting lives. I hope you enjoy them.

 This story comes from Mike Wilson out at Alto Frio. It’s funny how moments stick in your head.

This happened a few years back during an RA Camp. I was returning to the main camp area one evening from a very moving camp fire service. I passed by a group of boys that were squatting close to each other in a circle. They were probably around nine or ten years.  As I approached them to see what they were up to, my first thought (knowing boys) was mischief. I was wrong. 

As I got closer they became very quiet and I asked what they were up to. I heard a few sniffles and then one boy stood up and said that they were praying for “Johnny” and hs family. His mom and dad had recently separated, and were planning to divorce. My heart was broken for the young boy and his situation, but I was also blessed in the realization that these young boys understood the necessity and power of prayer.  What a beautiful picture it turned out to be…a group of youngsters collectively and earnestly lifting their hearts to the Father. 

Still gives me Goosebumps when I think about it.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Camp appreciation month”

  1. David Says:

    I wonder whether or not those young men take prayer requests. Many of the matters discussed at length on this blogsite will be resolved when people who believe simply pray (the Lord Jesus: “Pray, believing”).

Leave a Reply

