Pinkston named interim Texas WMU leader

by

Nina Pinkston recently was named interim executive director-treasurer of Texas WMU.

Here’s the release:

DALLAS – Nina Pinkston recently was named interim executive director-treasurer of Woman’s Missionary Union of Texas.

Texas WMU President Nelda Taylor said Pinkston was selected for the position because of her strong administrative skills as well as her passion for mission work in Texas and around the globe.

“Nina is a strong missions leader,” Taylor said. “She is a praying woman who has been on the mission field, so she understands the missionary heart. She has a world perspective and a heart for Texas.”

Pinkston and her husband Glen served as religious education consultants for the European Baptist Convention. In that position, they helped churches in 24 countries strengthen their Sunday School programs, stewardship efforts, deacons ministries, children’s ministries and WMU.

Pinkston, a member of Travis Avenue Baptist Church in Fort Worth, recently completed a four-year stint as vice president of Texas WMU. As interim executive director, she looks to stimulate interest in mission work.

“I believe that God is asking WMU of Texas to step out and lead others to reach the lost in Texas, and I would ask WMU leaders throughout our great state to join me in that task,” she said.

Pinkston holds a bachelor’s degree from Texas Tech University and a master’s degree from Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary.

Carolyn Porterfield resigned the post of Texas WMU executive director-treasurer in October. The Texas WMU Personnel Committee is searching for the next executive director.

Tags: ,

14 Responses to “Pinkston named interim Texas WMU leader”

  1. spiritualsamurai Says:

    I wonder if the results of the audit done while Mrs. Porterfield was in office will be released? I am still wondering how much money was diverted from the Mary Hill Davis offering. Cecil Deadman blew the whistle on this and it cost him his job. Texas Baptists have the right to know what E.B. Brooks did (and others) and how we can be sure this will not happen again.

  2. Ferrell Says:

    David,
    I will have to do some checking with WMU regarding the audit. The Baptist Standard ran a story on Sept. 14, 2006, that began with these two paragraphs:

    “DALLAS—Contrary to allegations, there is no indication any Mary Hill Davis Offering for Texas Missions funds have been mismanaged, Baptist General Convention of Texas Executive Director Charles Wade said.

    “Financial controls are in place to ensure the Baptist Building staff administers funds from the Mary Hill Davis Offering for Texas Missions according to plans approved by the Woman’s Missionary Union of Texas Executive Board, Chief Financial Officer David Nabors added.”

    The story deals with some specific allegations. It is at this url: http://www.baptiststandard.com/postnuke/index.php?module=htmlpages&func=display&pid=5356

    As soon as I hear something from WMU, I will pass that along.

  3. Cecil Deadman Says:

    I must reply to David’s comments that are inaccurate and misleading. He chose to use the language that I “blew the whistle” when that was not the case. He called me to ask a question and I answered openly and honestly. It was unfortunate that he chose to use only part of my answer.

    His question was “According to my source, are you aware of any Mary Hill Davis that was used for something other than that for which it was intended?” I answered that there were funds that were used for other projects but that I had no knowledge they were used for anything other than Mary Hill Davis approved projects. Virtually every office in my area received and used Mary Hill Davis monies.

    I informed my leadership immediately that he had called and asked the question. I had already had a discussion with my new section leader prior to the call, so the issue was not something new. Leadership within the building knew I had talked with David because I told them.

    By the time David called me, steps had already been taken to address the situation. I do not believe for a moment that my position at the BGCT was eliminated because of my conversation with David. If leadership had felt that I was deliberately leaking information they would have dismissed me immediately. I called David on October 1st when he used my name in his blog about my dismissal. I reminded him that I was not the only person whose position was eliminated. I immediately called my leadership to let them know that I had talked with David about using my name in his blog when others were involved in the layoffs as well.

  4. Brady Says:

    Well, here we go again. Seems like a whole lot of covering up one’s posterior. Methinks there is something rotten in Denmark (or should I say in the Baptist Building.) Perhaps David’s comments touched a nerve.

  5. David Says:

    If half-truths are being published on the web as if they’re true, and if that has occurred so often that honest folks must keep each other updated regarding the activities of the publisher of those half-truths and also later defend their own good names, then it would appear the “rottenness” is neither in Denmark nor inside the Baptist Building but with the publisher of the half-truths.

    I have hopes that 2008 will be a totally honest year with less Baptist blogging and conclusion-jumping, and even more cooperative Texas Baptist ministry for the sake of souls. How will posters here spend their time during 2008? Be ready to answer for it when the Lord comes.

  6. Brady Says:

    Perhaps it would be better if the BGCT blog would answer questions more forthrightly instead of being a pr modem for all that the convention is doing. I have learned that when something is being hidden then the best defense is a good offense. Seems to be the case here–attack the one who is reporting…

  7. David Says:

    Brady:

    Be more specific: when have Ferrell, John, Cecil, or others responsible for publishing this website–during its short life so far–hidden things from their readers? Seriously, I think that all of us also are interested in knowing the things you have learned over the course of time you mentioned. Please also describe in more detail who is attacking whom. Thanks, brother.

  8. Charles Wade Says:

    It has been suggested that my friend Cecil Dedman lost his job because he said something to a blogger regarding the Mary Hill Davis Offering. Again it has been shown that the blogger misused and misrepresented the matters at hand.

    Cecil has entered a response regarding the matter explaining his remark and pointing out that only half of what he said was used.

    People who know me know that no one who has lost their position at the BGCT since I have been here did so because I was vindictive or angry with them. Some of those jobs which had to be reshaped, combined or eliminated belonged to people who have been friends of mine long before we worked together at the BGCT. Those matters have been painful, as almost all of you understand, either because you have gone through the loss of a job or because you had to be the one to make the decision to change the jobs or the organization.

    It has been suggested by one or two bloggers that it has been difficult to tell me things they thought would be hard for me to hear. I place before you everyone who has ever worked with me and told me the truth or gave me their opinion or challenged me regarding a decision or direction I was recommending. Clearly I have not always agreed with those who have had other opinions…but I have listened and I have tried to incorporate their wisdom into each decision we have tried to make. My staff knows that I am always looking for a better idea and am open to it up until the last minute of making a final decision. I look to build consensus, but not everyone has to agree before we move forward.

    Not one person has ever been fired or demoted because they didn’t agree with me or because they offered another idea or opinion. A few have moved on to do other things because I no longer felt they had the passion for their job, or they had become distracted by other things, or they would not or could not work with other people on the staff, or they had been placed in a job that they could not manage and prosper in. Most of the reductions in staff have come about because we have reorganized and put our emphasis in other areas or because we have had to deal with limited funds available for personnnel positions. We have fewer secretaries in place now. Our program staff members are expected to handle more of their office work with the use of improved computer programs and skills. We have more people in the field and closer to the churches than before.

    We have sought to work with all those who have retired or resigned to find a suitable job if they have desired to continue working. A few have been hired to fill new positions on our staff. Some have been hired already to work in other Baptist institutions in the area. We are monitoring all of them and offering help from our HR people as they look for new opportunities.

    While you pray, please remember to pray for them and their families.

  9. David Says:

    With true and profound regrets to all of those whose positions have been eliminated in recent years (my friends, too): Amen, Dr. Wade!

    It is due to the complexity of the role of the ED of the BGCT–as described in part by Dr. Wade above–that I, for one, have suggested to the ED Search Committee NOT to consider seriously for the vacant ED position anyone NOT trained/experienced in overseeing a non-profit entity of the size/nature/scope which the BGCT now has–which means that few, if any, senior pastors or DOMs currently serving in Texas would receive a second look by the committee (look to other state Baptist conventions for the results of their regrets of recent years; the next ED doesn’t have to ever have been a senior pastor–but he must be able to lead senior pastors when it’s his turn to lead us).

    If Texas Baptist churches actually are to be “better together” and if the BGCT is to become what will be required for that “better together” to become reality in Texas, then someone WITHOUT the otherwise huge learning curve will be necessary to fill the ED role–else the “better together” we can experience will have to wait. Of course, half-truths and rumors among us have their negative impact, as well.

    I’m convinced that 2008 can be the greatest year ever for the BGCT and its affiliating congregations–and that next year can be even better than that! But not with ALL that has taken place or been said in 2007. Let’s do better for Christ’s sake.

  10. Lee Says:

    David,
    I appreciate your comment regarding the training and experience of the next ED. It is the natural tendency of Baptist organizations, particularly those of the size and scope of state conventions, to look to the pastors of their larger, more “prominent” (for lack of a better term) churches to fill the role of executive director. But I don’t think the same sets of skills or spiritual gifts are required, and to limit the scope of the ED to being a “pastor of pastors” is too simplistic. I think we do a disservice to both the convention and to the person we call to fill the position because we can’t seem to get past the idea that it is some sort of a promotion for a pastor who is well known, well liked and has been in a large church situtation. The model of climbing the corporate ladder does not fit Baptist denominational service at all.

    As to issues that may have been raised by bloggers regarding the use of Mary Hill Davis offerings, well, I try to take all of those things at face value. I want to very clearly state up front that I am not accusing anyone of anything. What I am offering here is a perception, and in so doing, I am trying to be helpful. Taking into consideration that the information presented by a particular blogger regarding other financial difficulties in the BGCT turned out to be extremely accurate, as has his information on subsequent related matters, and that the response of the BGCT to those particular incidents, for lack of a better way of expressing it, came off like carefully crafted damage control, the longer it takes to release the results of the audit, the harder it will be for the BGCT to convince people that what it is putting out is accurate. The trust that has been lost in the executive board and BGCT administration was not due to the fact that a blogger exposed some scandals, it was due to some ill-advised decicions made by some BGCT employees in charge of overseeing the use of church planting funds and subsequent mistakes made in the way they responded to the revelations. Whether they were intended to or not, the delayed responses gave the appearance of a cover-up, the carefully worded, sparse and short press releases and statements looked like damage control, and the “let’s just get on with business as usual” approach afterward looked like sweeping under the rug and hoping it would go away. It’s not the blogger who has to restore his trust and credibility. The direct, open honest approach is always best, even when you have crawled out on a limb to help someone, and they sawed it off behind you.

    Deep change in the way the BGCT does both ministry and business will be required if the convention’s best days are yet to be. The first thing that will have to go is the “good ole boy” system that chooses leadership based on connections and influence rather than skills, ability and spiritual gifts.

  11. David Says:

    Lee:

    I, for one, appreciate your sharing your opinions above–you certainly are entitled to them and I agree with much of what you said.

    However, as appearances can be deceiving and the year 2007 experienced among us was fairly filled with the “looks like” and such that you mention, it is high time–for the sake of more effective ministry among and by us in 2008–for bloggers and Baptist Building folks alike either fully “to put-up or to shut-up” and for the BGCT to move forward with the gospel in ways it has not been able to recently.

    If full disclosures have taken place, then it is time for those disclosures to be believed, forgiveness and final cautions to be given, fellowship to be restored, and all to step toward the future together. That sentiment may be the very one you sought to share above, though your statements are worded with more polish than mine.

    The better approach in years to come: remain personally involved in convention matters, view the BGCT for what it is and not for what it is not, and encourage others to act biblically in regard to unresolved issues.

  12. Ceselllie Vance Says:

    Can you help me with Prayer Walking schools information? Thanks

  13. John Says:

    Cesellie, I’ll pass your information to someone who can help you.

  14. sandrar Says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

