Open and honest, not attacking

by

I’m in a quandary. I want this blog to be an open and honest discussion, but I do not believe we should allow personal attacks. It’s just not the way we should communicate with one another. My plan from here forward is to remove such language if it occurs; I will note that I have done so and will, of course, allow the non-attacking part to remain.

Does this seem like a fair and appropriate approach? I am open to your feedback.

By the way, Charles Wade has not asked me to do this. He is away from the blogging world the rest of this week.

13 Responses to “Open and honest, not attacking”

  1. michael bell Says:

    Ferrell,
    Thanks for your sense of civility and your understanding that this tool is a gift to Texas Baptists. I, too, believe that we can disagree without being irate and malevolent. Our differing perspectives and varying perceptions shouldn’t lead to our denigrating and maligning each other. Galatians 6:10 is instructive for us: “Let us make a special point of doing good to those who belong to the family of believers” (NIRV).
    I think it is extremely important for us to have a place where we can express our agreements or disgreements without experiencing any anxiety because we might be demeaned and/or misrepresented. I believe the necessary redaction you’ve suggested will encourage dialogue and improve clarity.
    Blessings!

    In One Peace,
    michael bell

  2. Lee Saunders Says:

    I agree. I believe that difficult questions can be addressed, and difficult issues discussed without personal attacks.

    I think having Dr. Wade write for this blog was an excellent idea, especially at this particular time. I think it is important for us to hear what he has to say, and I believe, if he will be open to responding to every question, even the hard ones, as long as they are asked respectfully, his response will go a long way toward bringing closure to the Valleygate issue in the BGCT, and perhaps some healing as well.

    I think it would be a great idea to open this blog on occasion to questions and answers for the BGCT President, and Executive Board Chair as well, let Texas Baptists ask questions or make comments and have them respond. It might capture the interest of some “under 50” folks and it would certainly help overcome the perception that the BGCT is a closed, exclusive, select group of Baptists. At this time in the BGCT, I think people need to see that their leadership is open to communication, because that is certainly not the general impression out there now.

    You’ve got a good thing going here.

  3. Tim Dahl Says:

    I think that patrolling the comments is a good idea.

    Tim Dahl

  4. VB Says:

    Lee: Paragraph 2 – exactly. That’s why I posted the original questions I did when Dr Wade opened this thing up. I was trying to be respectful. I look forward to his answers (when he gets back from vacation).
    Paragraph 3 – I am in that under 50 crowd and I think you are absolutely right. There’s this kind of “smoke filled room” perception about the exclusive group that runs the convention. This format for discussion creates an opening for us to all feel like a part of the conversation.
    Rick Davis did a great piece on blogging (aintsobad) on the 11th. It really spoke to the change that blogging brings to the table. Very insightful.

  5. David Lowrie Says:

    Ferrell,

    I affirm what my brothers have shared. It appears we need some boundaries to help us to communicate our concerns and perceptions effectively. I often go back to three key thoughts when I try to communicate during times of high stress and conflict.

    James wrote: “Be quick to hear, slow to speak, and slow to become angry”.

    Paul wrote: “Speak the truth in love”.

    Proverbs says: “A gentle answer turns away wrath”.

    I pray you will have the discernment you will need to help us embrace our conflicts so we can continue to find points of cooperation and understanding.

    David Lowrie

  6. Jim Wade Says:

    It seems that I made a mistake. I let months of personal frustration spill over into a forum that was intended to be a dialogue between BGCT leadership and Texas baptists. I recognize that a number of folks have questions to ask and I am confident that they will be addressed respectfully and thoroughly by the ED. I encourage everyone to continue the discussion.

  7. rick davis Says:

    FF,

    I totally agree. Keep the attacking in the back rooms or from the platform at the annual meeting, where it belongs.

  8. David Lowrie Says:

    Rick,

    Thanks for keeping your sense of humor!! I think =)

    Jim Wade,

    Thank you for sharing your heart. Your love and respect for your older brother Charles was encouraging to me, since I have three younger brothers. Free floating frustration is a common problem right now, but if we keep talking to each other rather than about each other I suspect we may stumble onto a solution.

    David Lowrie

  9. VB Says:

    Does anyone know if Dr Wade will be back before the holidays or not until after?

  10. spiritualsamurai Says:

    May the Lord bless you richly Dr. Rick Davis, but I know He has and is and always will.

    I fully agree with Ferrel concerning the rules he sets for this site. That is the author of a blog’s right.

    We will be loved if the next ED has the same love and concern you have for the future of the BGCT.

  11. Ken Coffee Says:

    I absolutely agree. There is no place in Baptist or Christian life for vitriol. Thanks for this blog. Texas Baptists will appreciate it.

  12. BT Says:

    Vitriol – Bitterly abusive feeling or expression.

    Thank you Ken and dictionary.com, I learned a new word today! I like it! Have to work that into a sermon, all I need is a verse.

  13. Idetrorce Says:

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

Leave a Reply

