I’m still engaged; you need to be at ENGAGE

by

Someone asked me if I have a calendar in my office with each day from now to the 31st counted off and big X’s marking out each day that passes. No, I don’t.  I do have a list of people I am calling, staff members I am visiting with, projects I hope I can leave closer to completion, Executive Board matters I am trying to provide ideas and input that will be helpful.

One brother thought that with accrued vacation I might have already left the office.  I have tried to use my vacation every year because it is important not only for my family and me that I take vacation, but I have always thought it made me a  better pastor and executive director if I would use the vacation time provided.  I recommend it to all of you.

My father loved to tell the story about the pastor who finally was able to schedule a vacation only to have a dear member say to him, “I can’t understand how you can take a vacation with all that needs to be done around here.  You know, the Devil never takes a vacation.”   To which the pastor responded, “Yes, and that’s why he’s so mean!”

So we took the last two weeks of December for family and vacation time and had an amazing time with our children, brothers and sisters, and extended family:   36 at one party; 20 for our immediate family; and 56 at the last party!  We were grateful some friends had a New Year’s party and invited us to their house!

Texas Baptists are going to have a “gospel party” this Sunday evening through Tuesday.  It’s called ENGAGE: EVANGELIZING TEXAS CONFERENCE  and the party will be held at Lake Pointe in Rockwall. 

Some really good moments are in store for all of you who can be there.  Jon Randles has put together a remarkable program…it will inspire, encourage, and reignite in our hearts that we can be personally involved in doing intentional evangelism and we can help our churches reach more people than ever before. 

I have grown to love Jon.  He spoke to our staff at our monthly prayer meeting last week and I long for you to hear him.  This conference will bless you and those from your church who can be there.  And I predict it will have lasting impact on you because you will not only be inspired but you will gather some creative ideas that you can work with your people to implement as you reach out to your community and hug people up close to Jesus.  More information is on our website.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

