Good news at Brushy Creek

by

The folks in and around Putnam, east of Abilene, have turned an old “beer store” into a church that is growing more than the town.

Six months after its start, Brushy Creek Cowboy Church has 52 members, said Pastor Sam Stone. It has seen 11 professions of faith and performed 11 baptisms.

A hitching post has been set up outside the building so members can tie their horses outside while attending church. Inside, an old beer cooler has been converted into an air conditioner.

But the church is going to leave the old beer store behind soon. A local bank approved a $125,000 loan Nov. 29 for the church to buy 12.23 acres of land and build a 125 feet by 50 feet building. The new site also will include a roping arena.

Texas Baptists have had an important hand in making this happen. First Baptist Church in Clyde, Cherry Heights Baptist Church in Clyde, Callahan Baptist Association and the Texas Fellowship of Cowboy Churches have been in on the work big time. And the BGCT has been the biggest financial force behind it.

And the church is giving back, contributing 6 percent of receipts to the BGCT Cooperative Program, 2 percent to the TFCC and 2 percent to the association.

“God’s blessing hand over fist,” Pastor Stone said. And the congregation is excited about all that God is doing.

The pastor did note that the new church building will have a hitching post out front.

If you would like a little glimpse of Putnam and the church’s current meeting place, there’s a video called “Abandoned Texas Town” on You Tube, posted by someone passing through town. Turns out it hasn’t been abandoned by God or by Baptists working on His behalf.

http://texasbaptists.wordpress.com/2007/11/30/james-coggin-dies/

8 Responses to “Good news at Brushy Creek”

  1. spiritualsamurai Says:

    Good article Ferrel,

    What do you think about the Cowboy churches?

  2. Ferrell Says:

    David,
    I think it’s wonderful what’s happening through our cowboy churches.

    – They are meeting people where they are with the gospel.

    – Many people are making public professions of faith and being baptized.

    – Many people are truly becoming disciples and being faithful in kingdom service.

    – The cowboy churches, from the start, are exhibiting great stewardship, giving back to help extend the gospel to others and not just being turned inward.

    – They are strengthened and empowered by their involvement with the Texas Fellowship of Cowboy Churches, but they also are staying connected to the broader Baptist fellowship through the BGCT and associations.

    – There are some great, down-to-earth men providing pastoral leadership to their congregations. They have a commitment to reaching and discipling others. It’s not a career path, it’s a servant leadership.

    So, as you can see, I’m a big fan; and I’m saying that as one of the few Baptists in Texas who does not have a pair of cowboy boots. I do, however, have a hat.

  3. spiritualsamurai Says:

    The next to the last paragraph is a very refreshing encounter isn’t it!

    Bless you and if you can help me get my video and letter returned I would deeply appreciate it.

  4. VB Says:

    Ferrell:

    YOU DON’T HAVE BOOTS? Are you serious? wow.

  5. Ferrell Says:

    I had some, but they were not fit for decent society. I’m saving, or at least wishing, for a pair of good boots.

  6. T.K. Says:

    Dear Ferrell,

    Some time last year a gentleman by the name of John Poland helped me out on the side of the road. I know he attends this church. Is there any way you can give me his phone number or address by chance? My name is T.K. Archibald and I attend Texas Tech University. He helped me out as I was heading home for the semester and I’d really like to make contact with him. Anything would be most helpful, thank you.

  7. Ferrell Says:

    I’ll see what I can do and will get back to you. It might be best if you send me your phone number and email address so I can pass those along.

  8. best vaporizer Says:

    Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely
    long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any helpful hints for novice blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

