Baylor lets go of Morriss

by

Well, a while back I posted about HPU getting a new coach. It looks like Baylor will as well. Eventually. According to the AP, the school let go head football coach Guy Morriss on Sunday. Morriss had some nice moments at Baylor, though his overall record may not show it. Last year’s team showed some promise until the quarterback was knocked out for the year.

Among those who are being mentioned as the next coach is Mike Singletary, the Baylor alum and Hall of Fame linebacker who is currently on the staff of the San Francisco 49ers. Singletary was interviewed for the head football coach spot when the school hired Morriss, and his resume is stronger now. Of course many Baylor alums love the idea of the firey Singletary building the program back up.

Me? I’d just love to see them go to a bowl game. I don’t care which one, where it is or against who. I’d be there. What do you think, can Singletary get us there?

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “Baylor lets go of Morriss”

  1. David Lowrie Says:

    John,

    I believe Baylor would be blessed to have Mike Singletary at the helm. He is a class act in every way. I attended Baylor during his days leading the Bears to national prominence. The thing I like about him the most is that he is as a good man as he is a “football” man. I realize surviving in the Big Twelve is all about wins and losses, but in the big scheme of things at a Baptist school it needs to be about character and building men as well as winning programs.

    I don’t know if Singletary can bring a winning program to Baylor, but I believe he will bring respect. He should be an outstanding recruiter with parents who are looking for someone to entrust their son to.

    I regret to see the end of Coach Morriss career at Baylor. I hope and pray a great opportunity opens for him and his family.

    David Lowrie

  2. Gerald Bastin Says:

    The sad truth is that as long as Baylor stays in the Big 12 they will be over matched when it comes to football. They simply are not willing to spend the money at the same clip as the other schools Heck, they aren’t even keeping up with non Big 12 schools in Texas. UTEP, a less prestigious school, in a “lower” conference has new football facilities that make Baylor look like a high school and are spending 13 million for a new basketball complex to open next year. Until they decide to even the playing field and spend some money they are going to be the Big 12’s favorite homecoming game.

    Note: I am well aware of Baylor’s success outside of football, but this is Texas and football is king, let’s not fool ourselves. No one is tailgating for the women’s basketball team, as good as they are. Also football is what makes it possible for Baylor to even have a women’s basketball program

  3. Eric Guel Says:

    While Singletary is, I’m sure, a great guy, he’s a risky choice for a head coach. Not many NFL Hall-Of-Famers have actually turned out to be great football coaches.

    Still, at least Singletary would be some name recognition in the football world. Maybe that would help turn recruiting around?

  4. David Lowrie Says:

    Eric,

    I see your point. I believe for Singletary to succeed he will need to surround himself with the best football people he can find. His strength will be motivation and recruiting. However, unlike most NFL Hall-Of-Famers who often relied on sheer talent and natural gifts, Singletary was an unheralded linebacker before he came to Baylor who made his name through hard work, determination and character. I wish I could recount the stories I have of his character simply from watching him among the players in the dorm.

    I believe he can teach and coach what it takes to attain greatest both on and off the field.

    I guess you can see I am a big believer, but in my days at BU our motto was “JUST BELIEVE”!

    David Lowrie
    BU’1982

  5. John Says:

    Maybe green and gold has seeped into my brain, but I think Baylor can be competive in Big 12 football. We used to compete against Texas Tech, Texas, Texas A&M and Arkansas in the Southwest Conference. While it will be a challenge, I think we’ve seen parody in college football become the norm.

    There are about 120 Division 1 football teams. There are about 32 bowl games, meaning half of the teams go to bowls. I don’t see why Baylor couldn’t go 6-5 and make the Fort Worth Bowl or the Alamo Bowl. I’d be happy with that, at least at first. Perecentages say we have a 50 percent chance each year to make a bowl.

    If we build the program a little bit and schedule wisely, I think we could make it to 6-5 in the next couple of years. Put three easy non-conference games at the start to go 3-0 and work hard for 3 in-conference wins. Maybe we get lucky to get one of them, but I’ll take ‘em however I can get ‘em.

    And I’ll be honest, I don’t know much about how the school’s facilities match up to other schools. But I know the school’s making an effort. The basketball facility that you mention opened this fall and cost $8 million, which was given by donors. The regents just approved the construction of a $34 million on-campus football practice facility that also will serve all student atheletes. That’s at least a step in the right direction.

    By the way, I like the “Just Believe” motto. Maybe that’ll make a comeback. I forgot how much I like thinking about Baylor football …

    John
    BU ’02

  6. John Says:

    Well, Singletary’s out. Here’s the story from ESPN: http://sports.espn.go.com/nfl/news/story?id=3123452

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

